Mount Meander

Mount Meander
Release: 2016-07-01

Confirming that jazz is an universal language, here is a trans-national quartet featuring musicians from Germany, Latvia and Poland, in the two last cases living in Copenhagen. If you don’t recognize the names of these four representatives of a new generation of European musicians, namely Karlis Auzins, Lucas Leidinger, Tomo Jacobson and Thomas Sauerborn, certainly you’ll know some of those with whom they already established exciting partnerships: John Tchicai, Mat Maneri, Lotte Anker, Andrew D’Angelo, Adam Rudolph, Randy Peterson, Kresten Osgood, Sidsel Endresen and Frank Gratkowski. This gives you an idea of what to expect: music with an attitude, and the attitude is to function as one organism. Not a simple gathering of four individuals, but a complete being committed to intuitive and collective free improvisation. Does it mean this is non-idiomatic improvised music, to use the label invented by Derek Bailey? Not quite: the band Mount Meander uses musical idioms to tear down the borders between jazz, the avant-garde, world music, rock and pop, and precisely because this CD isn’t about genres. It’s all about unity, equality, trust and communication. Are you ready for them? 

- Pedro Costa

“Ambitious compositions, pushing limits.”

The Best Jazz Albums of 2016 Honorable Mention

(Tom Hull - on the Web : retired Village Voice writer and Jazz Consumer Guide creator-



“This quartet shows us that there need not be a compromise when it comes to jazz that is both bold and enjoyable to listen to. Here, stunning melodies go hand-in-hand with restless experimentation, and the end-result is music that is endlessly alluring.”

4/5 stars

(Derek Stone - Free Jazz Blog -


“While it might seem that there is a production line for outfits hailing from Scandinavia, Mount Meander demonstrates that the output is far from standardised.”

3.5/4 stars

(John Sharpe - All About Jazz -


1 Sunsail part #1
2 Sunsail part #2
3 Sunsail part #3
4 Politeness Is God
5 Thrill
6 Motoric Animal
7 A Bird In The Hand...
8 Swung
9 Bow

All compositions by Karlis Auzins, Lucas Leidinger, Tomo Jacobson & Thomas Sauerborn

Recording by Thomas Sauerborn at Monastic Studios, Copenhagen on 9th May 2015 | Mixing & Mastering by Christian Heck at Tonart Studio
Produced by Mount Meander | Executive production by Pedro Costa for Trem Azul | Artwork & Design by Travassos | Photos by Malwa Grabowska

Cleanfeed Label